Who is the Prime Minister of India 2024

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Based on the search results provided, it appears that Narendra Modi of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to become the Prime Minister of India for a third consecutive term after the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.Here are the key points:

  • The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has secured 293 seats, crossing the majority mark of 272 required to form the government.
  • However, the BJP itself won only 240 seats, falling short of an outright majority on its own. This is the first time since 2014 that the BJP could not cross the halfway mark independently.
  • With the BJP falling short, it will have to rely on the support of its allies like Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) and N. Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party to form the government.
  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi submitted his resignation on June 5th, but he is expected to be sworn in for his third term, likely on June 8th.
  • Modi’s victory makes him only the second leader after Jawaharlal Nehru to become the Prime Minister of India for three consecutive terms.
  • However, the BJP’s performance was weaker than expected, with the party losing over 50 seats compared to 2019. This has been attributed to factors like joblessness, rising prices, and Modi’s divisive campaign rhetoric targeting Muslims.

So, while the BJP-led NDA has secured a majority, the BJP’s individual performance was not as strong as anticipated. Nevertheless, with the support of allies, Narendra Modi is set to return as the Prime Minister of India for a third consecutive term.

You may also like...