Cabinet Panels

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

1. **Reconstitution of Cabinet Committees**: On July 3, the Union Government reconstituted several crucial Cabinet committees.

2. **Inclusion of Alliance Partners**: Ministers from BJP’s alliance parties such as Janata Dal (U), Telugu Desam Party, Janata Dal (S), Shiv Sena, and Lok Janshakti Party secured representation in these panels, which are predominantly led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

3. **Key Committees**: The reshuffled committees encompass the Cabinet Committee on Security, Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs, and Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs.

4. **Cabinet Committee on Appointments**: Constituting two members – Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, this committee oversees various high-level appointments.

5. **Cabinet Committee on Accommodation**: Chaired by Union Home Minister Amit Shah, this committee includes senior BJP Ministers such as Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Manohar Lal Khattar, and Piyush Goyal. Additionally, Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office, Jitendra Singh, has been listed as a special invitee.

6. **Cabinet Committee on Security**: Steering this crucial committee as its head is Prime Minister Modi. Members include Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, and External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar.

7. **Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs**: Headed by Prime Minister Modi, this resource allocation and disbursement panel encompasses several members. These include Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, S. Jaishankar, Nitin Gadkari, Agriculture Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, and VIPs like Dharmendra Pradhan, Piyush Goyal, and JD(U) leader Rajiv Ranjan Singh.

8. **Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs**: Guided by Rajnath Singh, this committee lists Amit Shah, Union Health Minister J.P. Nadda, Nirmala Sitharaman, Rajiv Ranjan Singh, and others as its members. Arjun Ram Meghwal and L. Murugan have been included as special invitees.

9. **Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs**: Prime Minister Modi takes the lead in this committee that accommodates key figures such as Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal, J.P. Nadda and others.

10. **Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth**: Headed by the Prime Minister, this panel welcomes key ministers such as Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Piyush Goyal and others as members, with special invitees like Rao Inderjit Singh and Prataprao Jadhav.

11. **Cabinet Committee on Skill, Employment and Livelihood**: Constituting Prime Minister Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman and other ministers, this committee has Jayant Choudhary as a special invitee.

12. **Recent History in Cabinet Reconstitution**: This significant reshuffling of cabinet committees aligns with a broader pattern of political realignment and compromise. It exhibits the BJP’s effort to maintain synergy and cooperation with its alliance partners. The inclusion of ministers from diverse backgrounds in important portfolios aims for better decision-making and integration of multiple perspectives.

You may also like...